Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs Canada
Quarterly Financial Report for the Quarter Ended September 30, 2015


Statement outlining results, risks, and significant changes in operations, personnel, and program

1. Introduction

This Quarterly Financial Report (QFR) has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board Accounting Standard 1.3. This QFR should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates. It has not been subject to an external audit or review.

1.1 Mandate

The Office of the Commissioner for Federal Judicial Affairs (FJA) Canada was created in 1978 under the authority of the Judges Act to safeguard the independence of the Judiciary and to put federally appointed judges at arm’s length from the administration of the Department of Justice. It exists to promote better administration of justice and focuses its efforts on providing a sound support role to the federal judiciary.

It administers three distinct and separate components that are funded from different sources. Statutory funding is allocated for the judges’ salaries, allowances and annuities, and surviving beneficiaries’ benefits. Voted appropriations are provided in two separate votes to support the administrative activities of FJA and the Canadian Judicial Council (CJC).

The administration of FJA is structured to reflect the distinctiveness of its role in supporting federal judicial activities. Under the Program Alignment Architecture, in addition to Internal Services, the organization is broken down into three programs: payments pursuant to the Judges Act, CJC, and FJA. FJA’s organizational priorities are improved financial control framework, improved performance reporting, human resources and succession planning, and information management.

Further details about FJA’s authority, mandate, and programs can be found below and in FJA’s Report on Plans and Priorities (RPP), Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A located on FJA’s and the Treasury Board websites.

1.2 Basis of Presentation

This QFR has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes FJA’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department consistent with the Main Estimates and Supplementary Estimates A for both the 2014-15 and the 2015-16 fiscal years. This QFR has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

When Parliament is dissolved for the purposes of a general election, section 30 of the Financial Administration Act authorizes the Governor General, under certain conditions, to issue a special warrant authorizing the Government to withdraw funds from the Consolidated Revenue Fund. A special warrant is deemed to be an appropriation for the fiscal year in which it is issued.

FJA uses the modified accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

2. Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

FJA is financed by the Government through Parliamentary Appropriations (e.g. Statutory Votes for payments pursuant to the Judges Act and Employee Benefits Plans (EBP) and Budgetary Votes to support the administration of FJA and CJC).

Vote-netting is a means of funding selected programs or activities wherein Parliament authorizes FJA to apply revenues collected towards costs directly incurred for specific activities. FJA has the authority to spend revenues received during the year arising from the provision of administrative services.

Changes to Departmental Authorities

As at September 30 2015, the total authorities provided to FJA increased by $15.5 million compared with the same quarter last fiscal year. This net increase is comprised of:

  • An increase of $13.5 million in statutory authorities for judges salaries, allowances and annuities; and
  • An increase in CJC’s operating authorities of $2.0 million pertaining to transitional funding to March 31, 2016 for legal costs associated with investigations and inquiries under the Judges Act (Budget 2014).

Changes to Budgetary Expenditures

Overall, FJA’s quarterly and year-to-date budgetary expenditures are consistent with that of the previous fiscal year. As at September 30, 2015 the department’s total year –to-date net budgetary expenditures increased by 4.9% ($12.4 million) compared with the same quarter last fiscal year. This variance is comprised of:

  • A year-to date net increase of 4.6% ($10.8 million) in personnel expenditures (including EBP and judges’ salaries, annuities, and surviving beneficiaries’ benefits issued pursuant to the Judges Act); and
  • An overall net increase of 0.3% ($1.6 million) for all other non-salary expenditures.
Title: As at September 30, 2014 and 2015
Figure 1: Comparison of Authorities Granted and Used

The chart illustrates the variation in thousands of dollars of the annual budgetary authorities granted and used as at September 30, 2014 and 2015.

As at September 30, 2014 and 2015, FJA planned to spend $512,190,328 in 2014-15 and $527,656,386 in 2015-16. Authorities used during the first and second quarters totalled $253,593,523 in 2014-15 and $266,021,182 in 2015-16.

3. Risks and Uncertainties

FJA’s environment is complex due to the range of services it provides and the large number of clients served. Recognizing this context, FJA has developed a risk profile and actively monitors internal and external risks through its management team. Concise information about significant financial risks and uncertainties, the potential impact to FJA’s 2015-2016 financial plan and the strategies adopted to manage these financial risks and uncertainties are briefly outlined below. Further detail about FJA’s internal and external risks can be found in FJA’s 2015-16 RPP.

This QFR reflects the results of the current fiscal period in relation to the Main Estimates for which full supply was released on June 09, 2015, Supplementary Estimates A and the year end operating budget carry forward.

FJA continues to operate within its existing reference levels, which have remained relatively constant for several years. The lack of new funding and the focus on addressing gaps and deficiencies at the operating level has limited FJA’s ability to make investments in new strategic priorities. FJA has responded to these challenges by reallocating internal resources and identifying efficiencies, however, the ability to continue to do so is limited.

4. Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

Two budgetary changes are expected in relation to operations, personnel and programs for the coming year. One change concerns the increased number of judicial appointments, pensioners, and statutory expenditures for judges’ salaries. The second change concerns increased expenditures for legal obligations for which FJA received interim funding in 2015-16.

5. Budget 2012 Implementation

FJA was not affected by the strategic and operating reviews. Therefore, there were no new or renewed initiatives and savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that implicated FJA. FJA pursued a range of initiatives to ensure the renewal of legacy systems and alignment with government-wide process and systems. However, as mentioned above FJA has a limited funding capacity. Workload demand for FJA services is increasing in line with demographic changes in the client base, which brings additional operational requirements (for example, the funding necessary to support the Judicial Compensation and Benefits Commission).

6. Approval by Senior Officers

Approved by:

(the original version was signed by)

William A. Brooks
Commissioner
Ottawa, Canada
Date: November 20, 2015

(the original version was signed by)

Marc Giroux
Chief Financial Officer
Ottawa, Canada
Date: November 20, 2015

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2016* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Operating expenditures – FJA $ 8,947 $ 1,669 $ 3,363
Operating expenditures - CJC 3,590 610 1,145
Less: Revenues (275) (9) (9)
Net Operating expenditures 12,262 2,270 4,499
Statutory authorities – EBP 964 241 482
Statutory authorities – Judges salaries, allowances and annuities 514,430 130,845 261,040
Total Budgetary Authorities $ 527,656 $ 133,356 $ 266,021

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.



Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)
  Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2015* Used during the quarter ended September 30, 2014 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Operating expenditures – FJA $ 9,324 $ 2,025 $ 3,615
Operating expenditures - CJC 1,589 615 966
Less: Revenues (275) (8) (8)
Net Operating expenditures 10,638 2,632 4,573
Statutory authorities – EBP 667 166 333
Statutory authorities – Judges salaries, allowances and annuities 500,885 124,033 248,687
Total Budgetary Authorities $ 512,190 $ 126,831 $ 253,593

*Includes only Authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

Departmental budgetary expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

Fiscal year 2015-16 (in thousands of dollars)
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2016 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2015 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
  Personnel - including EBP $ 484,065 $ 124,360 $ 248,524
  Transportation and Telecommunications 31,505 7,271 12,342
  Information 165 33 46
  Professional Services 3,303 815 1,596
  Rentals 550 22 77
  Purchased Repair and Maintenance 139 7 13
  Utilities, materials and supplies 269 17 23
  Acquisition of Machinery & Equipment 168 7 18
  Other subsidies and payments* 7,767 833 3,391
  Total gross budgetary expenditures 527,931 133,365 266,030
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
  Revenues (275) (9) (9)
Total net budgetary expenditures $ 527,656 $ 133,356 $ 266,021

*Timing difference – actual expenditures used during the quarter include interdepartmental settlements that were coded to the appropriate standard object in subsequent accounting periods.

Fiscal year 2014-15 (in thousands of dollars)
  Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended September 30, 2014 Year-to-date used at quarter-end
Expenditures:
  Personnel - including EBP $ 470,816 $ 119,257 $ 237,701
  Transportation and Telecommunications 30,705 5,916 11,083
  Information 63 24 31
  Professional Services 4,118 953 1,442
  Rentals 150 43 76
  Purchased Repair and Maintenance 135 1 58
  Utilities, materials and supplies 88 9 21
  Acquisition of Machinery & Equipment 364 3 11
  Other subsidies and payments* 6,026 633 3,178
  Total Gross Budgetary Expenditures 512,465 126,839 263,601
Less: revenues netted against expenditures
  Revenues (275) (8) (8)
Total net budgetary expenditures $ 512,190 $ 126,831 $ 253,593

*Timing difference – actual expenditures used during the quarter include interdepartmental settlements that were coded to the appropriate standard object in subsequent accounting periods.

Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada
Rapport financier trimestriel pour le trimestre ayant pris fin le 30 septembre 2015

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les principaux changements quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

1. Introduction

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction, comme l’exige l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, et conformément à la norme comptable 1.3 du Conseil du Trésor. Il doit être lu en corrélation avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses. Ce rapport n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

1.1 Mandat

Créé par la Loi sur les juges en 1978, le Commissariat à la magistrature fédérale Canada (le CMF) a pour mandat de protéger l’indépendance des juges et de leur assurer toute l’autonomie nécessaire vis-à-vis le ministère fédéral de la Justice. Le CMF a pour tâche de promouvoir l’administration de la justice et il s’efforce principalement d’apporter un soutien efficace à la magistrature fédérale.

Le CMF est chargé de l’administration de trois éléments distincts et séparés qui sont financés par différentes sources. Un financement législatif est alloué pour les traitements, les indemnités et les pensions des juges et pour les prestations versées à leurs survivants. Deux crédits approuvés distincts soutiennent les activités administratives du CMF et du Conseil canadien de la magistrature (le CCM).

L’administration du CMF est structurée de manière à refléter le caractère distinct de son rôle de soutien des activités de la magistrature fédérale. Suivant l’architecture d'alignement des programmes, le CMF est divisé en trois activités de programme: les paiements en application de la Loi sur les juges , le CCM et le CMF . Les priorités organisationnelles du CMF sont l’amélioration du cadre de contrôle financier, l’amélioration des rapports sur le rendement, la planification des ressources humaines et de la relève et la gestion de l'information .

On trouve des renseignements complémentaires au sujet de l’autorité, du mandat et des programmes du CMF ci-après de même que dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités (RPP) et dans le Budget principal des dépenses dans les sites Web du CMF et du Conseil du Trésor.

1.2 Méthode de présentation du rapport

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenses du CMF accordées par le Parlement et celles qui sont utilisées par le CMF, en conformité avec le Budget principal des dépenses et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) pour les exercices 2014-2015 et 2015-2016. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été dressé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation du pouvoir de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Lorsque le Parlement est dissous pour la tenue d’une élection générale, l’article 30 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques autorise le gouverneur général, à certaines conditions, à ordonner l’établissement d’un mandat spécial autorisant le gouvernement à retirer des fonds du Trésor. Un mandat spécial est considéré comme un crédit relatif à l’exercice au cours duquel il a été établi.

Le CMF utilise une méthode de comptabilité d’exercice modifiée pour la préparation et la présentation de ses états financiers annuels, qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement du CMF. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement demeurent en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

2. Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Le CMF est financé par le gouvernement grâce à des crédits votés par le Parlement (par exemple, des crédits législatifs pour les paiements en application de la Loi sur les juges et pour les régimes d’avantages sociaux des employés (RASE) et des crédits budgétaires pour soutenir l’administration du CMF et du CCM).

La méthode du crédit net est un moyen de financer certains programmes ou activités. Selon cette méthode, le Parlement autorise le CMF à utiliser des droits perçus pour couvrir des dépenses directement engagées pour des activités déterminées. Le CMF a l’autorisation de dépenser les recettes de l’année générées par la prestation de services administratifs.

Modifications aux autorisations ministérielles

En date du 30 septembre 2015, les autorisations ministérielles totales accordées au CMF s’élevaient à 15,5 millions de dollars de plus qu’au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent. Cette hausse nette résulte des fluctuations suivantes :

  • une hausse de 13,5 millions de dollars des autorisations législatives allouées aux traitements, indemnités et pensions des juges; et
  • une augmentation de l’autorisation parlementaire du CCM de 2,0 million de dollars se rapportant au financement transitoire jusqu’au 31 mars 2016 pour dépens associés aux enquêtes menées sous la Loi sur les juges (Budget 2014).

Modifications aux dépenses budgétaires

Globalement les dépenses budgétaires trimestrielles et cumulatives à ce jour correspondent à celle de l’exercice précédent. En date du 30 septembre 2015, les dépenses budgétaires totales nettes du ministère avaient augmenté de 4.9 % (12,4 millions de dollars) comparativement au même trimestre de l’exercice précédent. Les facteurs suivants expliquent la fluctuation :

  • une hausse nette de 4,6 % (10,8 millions de dollars) des dépenses en dépenses liées au personnel (y compris le RASE et les traitements, indemnités et prestations de survivants des juges en application de la Loi sur les juges);
  • une hausse nette de 0,3 % (1,6 millions de dollars) de l’ensemble des autres dépenses non salariales.
Le graphique illustre la variation en milliers de dollars des autorisations budgétaires annuelles
Figure 1 : Comparatif des autorisations accordées et utilisées

Le graphique illustre la variation en milliers de dollars des autorisations budgétaires annuelles accordées et utilisées en date du 30 septembre 2014 et 2015.

En date du 30 septembre 2014 et 2015, le CMF prévoyait dépenser respectivement 512 190 328 dollars en 2014-2015, et 527 656 386 dollars en 2015-2016. Les autorisations utilisées au cours du premier et deuxième trimestres totalisaient 253 593 523 dollars en 2014-2015 et 266 021 182 dollars en 2015-2016.


3. Risques et incertitudes

L’environnement du CMF est complexe, notamment à cause de la petitesse de l’organisation, de l’éventail des services qu’il fournit et du grand nombre de clients à qui il offre ses services. Dans ce contexte, le CMF a élaboré un profil de risque et il surveille activement les risques internes et externes par l’intermédiaire de son équipe de gestion. Des renseignements concis sur les risques et les incertitudes en matière de finances, les conséquences possibles du plan financier de 2015-2016 du CMF et les stratégies adoptées pour gérer ces risques et ces incertitudes sont exposés brièvement ci-dessous. Le RPP du CMF pour 2015-2016 contient d’autres renseignements sur les risques internes et externes du CMF.

Le présent rapport financier trimestriel reflète les résultats de l’exercice en cours visé par le Budget principal des dépenses dont les crédits ont été attribués en entier le 09 juin 2015 et le Budget supplémentaire des dépenses (A) ainsi que le report du budget de fonctionnement en fin d’exercice.

Le CMF continue de fonctionner dans les limites de ses niveaux de références actuels, qui sont restés relativement stables depuis plusieurs années. Le manque de nouveaux crédits et l’accent mis sur la réduction des écarts et des lacunes au niveau opérationnel ont limité la capacité du CMF à investir dans de nouvelles priorités stratégiques. Le CMF s’est efforcé de relever ces défis en réaffectant des ressources internes et en ciblant des gains d’efficacité possibles, mais cette solution devient de plus en plus difficile.

4. Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Deux changements budgétaires sont attendus au chapitre du fonctionnement, du personnel et des programmes au cours de la prochaine année. L’un de ces changements se rapporte à l’augmentation du nombre de nominations de juges, du nombre de pensionnés et des dépenses législatives pour les traitements des juges. L’autre changement découle de la hausse des dépenses associées aux obligations juridiques, dépenses pour lesquelles le CMF a reçu financement provisoire en 2015-2016.


5. Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

Le CMF n’a pas été touché par les examens stratégiques et opérationnels. Par conséquent, aucune initiative nouvelle ou renouvelée ni aucune mesure d’économie annoncée dans le budget de 2012 n’a eu de conséquence sur le CMF. Cependant, comme il a été mentionné plus haut, le CMF a une capacité de financement limitée. La demande à l’égard des services du CMF augmente au même rythme que l’évolution démographique de sa clientèle, ce qui entraîne des exigences opérationnelles supplémentaires (par exemple, le financement requis pour soutenir la Commission d’examen de la rémunération des juges).


6. Approbation par les cadres supérieurs

Approuvé par :

 

(original signé par)

William A. Brooks
Commissaire
Ottawa (Canada)
Date : 20 novembre 2015

(original signé par)

Marc Giroux
Dirigeante principale des finances
Ottawa (Canada)
Date : 20 novembre 2015

 

 

 

 


État des autorisations (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2016* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement – CMF 8 947 $ 1 669 $ 3 363 $
Dépenses de fonctionnement – CCM 3 590 610 1 145
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (275) (9) (9)
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 12 262 2 270 4 499
Autorisations législatives – RASE 964 241 482
Autorisations législatives - Loi sur les juges 514 430 130 845 261 040
Autorisations budgétaires totales 527 656 $ 133 356 $ 266 021 $

*N'inclut que les autorisations budgétaires accordées par le Parlement et disponibles à la fin du trimestre.



Exercice 2014-2015
(en milliers de dollars)
  Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses de fonctionnement – CMF 9 324 $ 2 025 $ 3 615 $
Dépenses de fonctionnement – CCM 1 589 615 966
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses (275) (8) (8)
Dépenses nettes de fonctionnement 10 638 2 632 4 573
Autorisations législatives – RASE 667 166 333
Autorisations législatives – Loi sur les juges 500 885 124 033 248 687
Autorisations budgétaires totales 512 190 $ 126 831 $ 253 593 $

*N'inclut que les autorisations budgétaires accordées par le Parlement et disponibles à la fin du trimestre.


Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

Exercice 2015-2016 (en milliers de dollars)
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2016 Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2015 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
  Personnel - y compris les contributions aux RASE 484 065 $ 124 360 $ 248 524 $
  Transport et télécommunications 31 505 7 271 12 342
  Information 165 33 46
  Services professionnels et spéciaux 3 303 815 1 596
  Location 550 22 77
  Réparation et entretien 139 7 13
  Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 269 17 23
  Acquisition de matériel et d'équipement 168 7 18
  Autres subventions et paiements* 7 767 833 3 391
  Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 527 931 $ 133 365 $ 266 030 $
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses
  Revenus (275) (9) (9)
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES TOTALES 527 656 $ 133 356 $ 266 021 $

*Écart temporaire – les dépenses réelles effectuées au cours du trimestre comprennent les règlements interministériels classés sous la rubrique appropriée des articles courants, lors de périodes comptables subséquentes.


Exercice 2014-2015 (en milliers de dollars)
  Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2015 Crédits utilisés au cours du trimestre terminé le 30 septembre 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
  Personnel - y compris les contributions aux RASE 470 816 $ 119 257 $ 237 701 $
  Transport et télécommunications 30 705 5 916 11 083
  Information 63 24 31
  Services professionnels et spéciaux 4 118 953 1 442
  Location 150 43 76
  Réparation et entretien 135 1 58
  Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 88 9 21
  Acquisition de matériel et d'équipement 364 3 11
  Autres subventions et paiements* 6 026 633 3 178
  Dépenses budgétaires brutes totales 512 465 $ 126 839 $ 253 601 $
Moins : Revenus affectés aux dépenses
  Revenus (275) (8) (8)
DÉPENSES BUDGÉTAIRES NETTES TOTALES 512 190 $ 126 831 $ 253 593 $

*Écart temporaire – les dépenses réelles effectuées au cours du trimestre comprennent les règlements interministériels classés sous la rubrique appropriée des articles courants, lors de périodes comptables subséquentes.